A Review of Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes by Karin Slaughter

Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes (Kindle Single)

by Karin Slaughter

I had always wondered how these new eBook short stories would be. I think that Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes is more of a prologue to the next book, rather than a stand-alone short story. The last quarter of the file is actually a preview of Pretty Girls, which comes out next month. I will read it, and let you know if this story adds anything to the book when I post my review.

I read quite a few short stories, so I have a general idea of what a short story is supposed to give you.

At its most prototypical the short story features a small cast of named characters, and focuses on a self-contained incident with the intent of evoking a “single effect” or mood. Wikipedia

I know that short stories don’t always follow the same format, but I expect a tightly written narrative without a cliffhanger ending. I suppose that the ending of this story would have worked fine if the story was much shorter, and if the ending was more of a surprise, but after a while you really knew what the surprise ending would be.

I checked out the Amazon Singles Bestseller list and saw that most of the Singles written by major authors were this sort of a story. They were the prelude to the next book, something to make you want to purchase it. Many of them included a preview of that book. This may be the next new marketing idea, but unless you just have to read everything your favorite author puts out, you probably won’t be buying many of these stories. If these Singles were less than a buck, there might be more interest, but at two dollars a pop, I think I’ll be skipping most Singles.

I give Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes 3 Stars out of 5, because  the main character was interesting and the story introduced an idea that will probably be further developed in Ms. Slaughter’s next novel. I didn’t really believe the period setting of this story. It was set in the early Nineties, but something just didn’t feel authentic. It seemed forced.

I received a Digital Review copy of this book from the publisher.

Book Description

Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes by Karin SlaughterA beautiful young girl was walking down the street―when suddenly…

Julia Carroll knows that too many stories start that way. Beautiful, intelligent, a nineteen-year-old college freshman, she should be carefree. But instead she is frightened. Because girls are disappearing.

A fellow student, Beatrice Oliver, is missing. A homeless woman called Mona-No-Name is missing. Both taken off the street. Both gone without a trace.

Julia is determined to find out the reasons behind their disappearances. And she doesn’t want to be next…

Book Details

File Size: 640 KB
Print Length: 68 pages
Publisher: Witness Impulse (August 18, 2015)
Publication Date: August 18, 2015
Sold by:
 HarperCollins Publishers
Language: English
ASIN: B00Z751DUY
Text-to-Speech: Enabled
X-Ray:
Not Enabled
Word Wise: Not Enabled
Lending: Not Enabled
Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

About the Author

Photo by Alison Rosa
Photo by Alison Rosa

Karin Slaughter is the #1 internationally bestselling author of more than a dozen novels, including the Will Trent and Grant County series and the instant New York Times bestseller Cop Town. There are more than 30 million copies of her books in print around the world.

 

7 thoughts on “A Review of Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes by Karin Slaughter”

  1. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, I didn’t know this existed! I just read Pretty Girls, my first book by Slaughter, and I loved it. This description definitely sounds like it’s kind of a prologue to Pretty Girls – you will see why when you read it. I’m going to go back and read this now, as it kind of shines a different light into the novel. Thanks again! – ashley

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

