A Review of The Forgotten Ones by Brian McGilloway

The Forgotten Ones: A Lucy Black Thriller

by Brian McGilloway

I had a hard time getting into this book at the start. Part of it is that The Forgotten Ones is the third book in the Lucy Black series, but the other thing is that Mr. McGilloway is an Irish writer and is writing a story that is set in Ireland. I don’t know Ireland well enough to be on top of current events, so I struggled understanding exactly what was going on. Most of these stumbling blocks seemed to resolve themselves by the middle of the book, and I was able to get into the story. If you know Ireland and/or this series, then I don’t think that you will have any problems.

I enjoyed getting to know DS Lucy Black and her partner, DI Tom Fleming. They make a good team, even though they aren’t always working together. Lucy goes off on her own projects, which can cause some problems with management, but it works well.

The underlying theme of forgotten people really becomes more about people who are taken advantage of and are not allowed to be themselves. This idea includes an abused wife or partner, or homeless men who no one seems to notice sleeping under a bridge, or begging on a street corner, or maybe even that young prostitute that everyone tries not to notice. All people need to be acknowledged as people and not objects to be used and abused.

I enjoyed my introduction to the writing of Brian McGilloway, and plan on reading more of his books. I have already purchased a few of the books from his other series featuring Inspector Benedict Devlin.

I give The Forgotten Ones 4 Stars out of 5 and a Big Thumbs Up! I recommend it to anyone who would like to read a good Irish mystery, especially if you know Ireland better than I do.

I received a Digital Review Copy from the publisher.

Book Description

The Forgotten OnesFrom the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost comes a brand-new thriller featuring Lucy Black—a twisting, gripping story of secrets and lies, perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Tana French.

The body of an elderly man is hauled out of the rushing water of the River Foyle, cold dead. Detective Lucy Black is called in to investigate when it becomes evident that this was not a suicide: the man’s body was embalmed before it ever entered the water.

Confounded and exhausted, Lucy heads home to review the case in quiet; but there will be no rest for her tonight. She’s barely in the front door when a neighbor knocks because his wife’s sister has been attacked and they need her help.

As a string of strange crimes is unspooled throughout the city, Lucy is pulled in countless different directions… until she realizes there may be something dark and dangerous connecting everything.

Soulful and suspenseful, featuring one of the most appealing characters in suspense fiction, The Forgotten Ones is a novel to take your breath away.

Book Details

File Size: 757 KB
Print Length: 309 pages
Publisher: Witness Impulse (August 11, 2015)
Publication Date: August 11, 2015
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Language: English
ASIN: B00H1UMOZ6
Text-to-Speech: Enabled
X-Ray:
Not Enabled
Word Wise: Not Enabled
Lending: Not Enabled
Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled

About the Author

Brian McGilloway is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Inspector Benedict Devlin and DS Lucy Black series. He lives near the Irish borderlands with his wife, daughter, and three sons.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s