A Review of Alive by Scott Sigler

Alive (The Generations Trilogy #1)

by Scott Sigler

A young woman awakes suddenly. She is trapped. She can’t see anything. Her hands are held at her sides by some kind of straps. Her feet can’t move either. Something is trying to bite her neck. She must get free. She struggles and is able to break one hand free. She grabs the snake and then bites its head off. But she is still trapped. She has to escape. She doesn’t know why she is here. She doesn’t know who she is. She just knows that she needs to be free.

That’s how Alive begins. You are seeing the panic and horror through her eyes. You will discover who you are and where you are, but before you can figure anything out, you need to escape. You have many more puzzles to figure out. The story is one of discovery. Everything is unknown.

Scott Sigler is beginning a new Young Adult series. This is a well written firsthand account of M. Savage. She is the person you see, and the story unfolds from her point of view. You get to know her as she gets to know herself, since she has no idea who she is, where she is, or why she is there. There are more people, but they are as lost as she is. The story is their story of discovery.

I enjoyed this book. It’s a very quick read, partially because it’s a short book, but also because the book is very hard to put down. It is definitely the first book in a series, but since there is some plot resolution, I’m not labeling it a serial, even though you will be anticipating book two. I hope it comes out soon.

I give Alive 4 1/2 Stars out of 5 and a Big Thumbs Up! You should read Alive, if you want to get in on a new, exciting young adult series.

If you would like to listen to the FREE audiobook of Alive, it’s available at Scott Sigler’s blog. Click here Alive, episode 1. Scott is podcasting the whole book. A new episode is out each week! Scott Sigler podcasts all of his books for free!

I received a Digital Reader’s Copy from the publisher.

Book Description

Alive lFor fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.
 
“I open my eyes to darkness. Total darkness. I hear my own breathing, but nothing else. I lift my head . . . it thumps against something solid and unmoving. There is a board right in front of my face. No, not a board . . . a lid.”
 
A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief—she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust, but no people . . . and no answers.

She knows only one thing about herself—her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin—yet she finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them, or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they’re to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another.

Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there’s a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.

Book Details

Series: The Generations Trilogy (Book 1)
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Del Rey (July 14, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0553393103
ISBN-13: 978-0553393101
Product Dimensions: 5.9 x 1.2 x 8.5 inches
Shipping Weight: 1 pound

About the Author

ScottSiglerNew York Times best-selling novelist Scott Sigler is the author of the INFECTED trilogy (INFECTED, CONTAGIOUS and PANDEMIC), ANCESTOR and NOCTURNAL,  hardcover thrillers from Crown Publishing; and the co-founder of Empty Set Entertainment, which publishes his Galactic Football League series (THE ROOKIE, THE STARTER, THE ALL-PRO and THE MVP).

Before he was published, Scott built a large online following by giving away his self-recorded audiobooks as free, serialized podcasts. His loyal fans, who named themselves “Junkies,” have downloaded over eight million individual episodes of his stories and interact daily with Scott and each other in the social media space.

Scott reinvented book publishing when he released EARTHCORE as the world’s first “podcast-only” novel. Released in twenty weekly episodes, EARTHCORE harkened back to the days of serialized radio fiction. His innovative use of technology puts him at the forefront of modern-day publishing and has garnered brand-name exposure among hundreds of thousands of fiction fans and technology buffs.

He’s been covered in Time Magazine, the Washington Post, the New York Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, Entertainment Weekly, Publisher’s Weekly, The Huffington Post, Business Week and Fangoria. He still records his own audiobooks and gives away every story – for free – to his Junkies at http://www.ScottSigler.com.

A Michigan native, Scott lives in San Francisco but still roots for his beloved Detroit Lions.

Amazon Button 2

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “A Review of Alive by Scott Sigler”

    1. I always look forward to reading (and hearing) Scott Sigler’s newest books. I hope you like his stuff too. I’m going to start listening to the podcast of Alive this week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s