A Review of After I’m Gone by Laura Lippman

After I'm Gone 2After I’m Gone: A Novel
by Laura Lippman

This is not an easy read, You have to concentrate, pay attention to who is the narrator and to the dates at the beginning of each chapter. This story is told from multiple viewpoints, and from various times. This can confuse you if you aren’t willing to put in a bit of work. You can become somewhat overwhelmed. I know, because, I was. I nearly gave up. I wasn’t spending the solid time reading. So here I was halfway through, and I said to myself, “No Olympics, no game playing, just brew up some coffee, and get to work.” That worked. Everything became clear, I understood what was going on, and then really enjoyed it.

You see this story through each of the main characters eyes. You get to know what they are thinking, and doing through the half century that this story evolves. Ms. Lippman gives you hints about what will drive future events by showing what happened in the past. You see the events unfold through the eyes of young children, teenage girls and boys, young married or divorced people, and older mature fathers and mothers. There are a lot of unknowns, that slowly become known, secrets that are revealed, and a murder that is solved. All this through the changing views that is heart of this story.

I’m not used to having to put in this much work, but it was worth it. I give After I’m Gone 4 1/2 Stars out of 5, and a Big Thumbs Up! If you are ready for a story that is a mystery, but so much more, then I strongly recommend putting After I’m Gone on your “Books To Read” list.

I received this Digital Review Copy for free from edelweiss.com.

Book Description
Release date: February 11, 2014

Laura Lippman, the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of The Most Dangerous Thing, I’d Know You Anywhere, and What the Dead Know, returns with an addictive story that explores how one man’s disappearance echoes through the lives of the wife, mistress, and daughters he left behind.

When Felix Brewer meets Bernadette “Bambi” Gottschalk at a Valentine’s Dance in 1959, he charms her with wild promises, some of which he actually keeps. Thanks to his lucrative—if not all legal—businesses, she and their three little girls live in luxury. But on the Fourth of July, 1976, Bambi’s comfortable world implodes when Felix, newly convicted and facing prison, mysteriously vanishes.

Though Bambi has no idea where her husband—or his money—might be, she suspects one woman does: his mistress, Julie. When Julie disappears ten years to the day that Felix went on the lam, everyone assumes she’s left to join her old lover—until her remains are eventually found.

Now, twenty-six years after Julie went missing, Roberto “Sandy” Sanchez, a retired Baltimore detective working cold cases for some extra cash, is investigating her murder. What he discovers is a tangled web stretching over three decades that connects five intriguing women. And at the center is the missing man Felix Brewer.

Somewhere between the secrets and lies connecting past and present, Sandy will find the truth. And when he does, no one will ever be the same.

Product Details

Hardcover: 352 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (February 11, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062083392
ISBN-13: 978-0062083395
Product Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.4 x 1.2 inches
Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds

About the Author

Laura Lippman was a reporter for twenty years, including twelve years at The (Baltimore) Sun. She began writing novels while working fulltime and published seven books about “accidental PI” Tess Monaghan before leaving daily journalism in 2001. Her work has been awarded the Edgar ®, the Anthony, the Agatha, the Shamus, the Nero Wolfe, Gumshoe and Barry awards. She also has been nominated for other prizes in the crime fiction field, including the Hammett and the Macavity. She was the first-ever recipient of the Mayor’s Prize for Literary Excellence and the first genre writer recognized as Author of the Year by the Maryland Library Association. Ms. Lippman grew up in Baltimore and attended city schools through ninth grade. After graduating from Wilde Lake High School in Columbia, Md., Ms. Lippman attended Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism. Her other newspaper jobs included the Waco Tribune-Herald and the San Antonio Light. Ms. Lippman returned to Baltimore in 1989 and has lived there since.

The book description is from Amazon.  After I’m Gone: A Novel

2 thoughts on “A Review of After I’m Gone by Laura Lippman”

    1. And this was another of the books that I got for free, all they want is for me to put up a review. I did implement a policy that if I didn’t enjoy reading a book, I may not put a review on my site. I still let the publisher what I thought of the book, and why I couldn’t review it. Some books just hit me wrong, and I just can’t seem to get through them. I let them know that too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

