A Review of Saints of the Shadow Bible by Ian Rankin

Saints of the Shadow Bible (Inspector Rebus) by Ian RankinSaints of the Shadow Bible (Inspector Rebus)
by Ian Rankin

Ian Rankin has written an intricately twisted mystery thriller. He throws John Rebus and Malcolm Fox together, and then brings in the rest of the fascinating detectives that have populated his stories in the previous volumes of the Inspector Rebus series.

There is a reorganization in the Edinburgh Police Force, so some jobs will disappear, and some people will be working in new areas. Malcolm Fox has his last assignment in “The Complaints” (Scottish version of Internal Affairs), which is to investigate Rebus and the group of detectives that he was working with 30 years ago, when he just started as a rookie detective in the Edinburgh Police Force. Rebus and Fox work together and apart on different cases, then everything gets twisted together and it turns out that there is a whole lot more going on in Edinburgh than anybody knew.

I really enjoyed the first Malcolm Fox book, and am glad to see that Mr. Rankin has brought Rebus and Fox together in this book. It works much better than you might think. I give this book 5 Stars out of 5 and a Big Thumbs Up! I recommend it to anyone that likes an intelligent, thoughtful mystery.

I received this Digital Review Copy for free from NetGalley.com.


Book Description
Release date: January 14, 2014

Rebus and Malcolm Fox go head-to-head when a 30-year-old murder investigation resurfaces, forcing Rebus to confront crimes of the past

Rebus is back on the force, albeit with a demotion and a chip on his shoulder. He is investigating a car accident when news arrives that a case from 30 years ago is being reopened. Rebus’s team from those days is suspected of helping a murderer escape justice to further their own ends.

Malcolm Fox, in what will be his last case as an internal affairs cop, is tasked with finding out the truth. Past and present are about to collide in shocking and murderous fashion. What does Rebus have to hide? And whose side is he really on? His colleagues back then called themselves “The Saints,” and swore a bond on something called the Shadow Bible. But times have changed and the crimes of the past may not stay hidden much longer — and may also play a role in the present, as Scotland gears up for a referendum on independence.

Allegiances are being formed, enemies made, and huge questions asked. Who are the saints and who the sinners? And can the one ever become the other?


Product Details

Series: Inspector Rebus
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company; Reprint edition (January 14, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316224553
ISBN-13: 978-0316224550
Product Dimensions: 9.5 x 6.4 x 1.5
Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds

About the Author

Ian Rankin is a #1 international bestselling author. Winner of an Edgar Award and the recipient of a Gold Dagger for fiction and the Chandler-Fulbright Award, he lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and their two sons.

The book description is from Amazon.  Saints of the Shadow Bible (Inspector Rebus)

9 thoughts on “A Review of Saints of the Shadow Bible by Ian Rankin”

  1. Not having read the other books in the series I have no opinion either way, but wanted to say it sounds like a great series and it’s always fun when authors tie characters together from other series into one book!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s