A Review of The Norfolk Mystery by Ian Sansom

Norfolk-Mystery-Ian-Sansom-coverThe Norfolk Mystery: A County Guides Mystery (Kindle Edition)

by Ian Sansom

I wasn’t planning on reading The Norfolk Mystery, but since it ended up coming my way, and I had a little extra time, I decided to check it out.

This was a fun story with a couple of interesting characters. The narrator of the story is Stephen Sefton. He was out of work and down to his last few pounds, and ends up as an assistant to Professor Swanton Moreley. Moreley is always talking and instructing and getting on everyone’s nerves. He is so much bigger than life. He is very precisely scheduled. He uses an egg timer to keep himself writing on schedule. He has written untold number of books and articles, and is writing multiple things at once. He is very funny, but never tries to be.

The novel revolves around a suspected suicide. A vicar is found hanged in his church. Sefton and Morley can’t leave the area until the death is settled, because they were outsiders and material witnesses. Their presence disturbs the town and some of the residents seem unusually anxious to have them leave.

This book was an unexpected good time. I enjoyed the characters and their interplay with the local residents. I probably won’t be searching out the next book in the series, but I had fun with this one.

I give this book 3.5 Stars out of 5. It was fun, but not that memorable. If you like stories set in the English countryside pre WWII, then this could be right up your alley.

I received this Digital Review Copy for free from edelweiss.com.

Book Description

Release date: November 12, 2013 | Series: County Guides to Murder

Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley’s guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England: quaint villages, eccentric locals—and murder …

It is 1937, and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where “intelligence is essential,” he eagerly applies.

Thus begins Sefton’s association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley’s latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county.

They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church’s bell rope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the reverend really take his own life, or is there something darker afoot?

A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, and Charles Todd, this novel includes plenty of murder, mystery, and mayhem to confound.

Product Details

File Size: 1196 KB

Print Length: 237 pages

Publisher: Witness Impulse (November 12, 2013)

Sold By: HarperCollins Publishers

Language: English

ASIN: B00E7RX68A

Text-to-Speech: Enabled

X-Ray: Not Enabled

Lending: Not Enabled

About the Author

Ian Sansom is a frequent contributor and critic for The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, The London Review of Books, and The Spectator and a regular broadcaster on BBC Radio 3 and Radio 4. He is the author of nine books, including Paper: An Elegy and the Mobile Library series.

The book description is from Amazon.   The Norfolk Mystery: A County Guides Mystery (Kindle Edition)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s