A Review of The Last Clinic by Gary Gusick

the-last-clinicThe Last Clinic: A Darla Cavannah Mystery (Kindle Edition)

by Gary Gusick

Very impressive! Mr. Gusick has written a tightly scripted, well plotted, and very engaging first novel. The characters are complete people, with fully formed personas. They storyline is believable, but has enough puzzles to keep you interested. There is a romantic backstory that doesn’t get in the way. The language has a realistic feel to it, but never gets so blue that it would offend the average reader. In short this book has it all.

The Last Clinic is a mystery with a strong moral stance. It brings up and exposes some moral and cultural deficiencies in American society. It raises questions that have no easy answers. All of this in a well crafted 250 page first novel.

I hope that this isn’t a one time deal for Mr. Gusick, because I for one am looking forward to reading another novel featuring Darla Cavannah. She is a very interesting character. A strong-willed female detective from the North, living and working in Jackson, Mississippi. I think that Mr. Gusick has a real winner here.

I give this book 5 Stars out of 5, and a Big Thumbs Up! I recommend The Last Clinic to anyone who likes a good mystery with a strong female lead.

I received this Digital Review Copy for free from NetGalley.com.

Book Description

Release date: November 18, 2013 | Series: Darla Cavannah

In a fast-paced, suspenseful debut novel for fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, detective Darla Cavannah goes Deep South in pursuit of a merciless killer.

Outside the local women’s health clinic, the Reverend Jimmy Aldridge waving his protest sign is a familiar sight. But that changes early one morning when someone shoots the beloved Reverend Jimmy dead. Sheriff Shelby Mitchell knows the preacher’s murder will shock the good people of Jackson—and the pressure to find the killer is immediate and intense, which is why Shelby calls in detective Darla Cavannah.

When police detective Darla moved from Philadelphia to Jackson with her husband—hometown football hero Hugh “the Glue” Cavannah—she never imagined the culture shock that awaited. Then after Hugh dies in a car crash, Darla enters a self-imposed exile in her Mississippi home, taking a leave of absence from the sheriff’s department. Now she’s called back to duty—or coerced, more like it, with Shelby slathering on his good-ole-boy charm nice and thick, like on a helping of barbecue.

Reluctantly partnered with a mulish Elvis impersonator, Darla keeps a cool head even as the community demands an arrest. The court of public opinion has already convicted the clinic’s doctor, Stephen Nicoletti, but Darla is just as sure he’s not guilty—even as she fights her growing attraction to him. From the genteel suburbs to a raunchy strip club, Darla follows a trail of dirty money and nasty secrets—until the day of judgment comes, and she faces down an ungodly assassin.

Product Details

File Size: 1595 KB

Print Length: 250 pages

Publisher: Alibi (November 18, 2013)

Sold By: HarperCollins Publishers

Language: English

ASIN: B00DACZTX8

Text-to-Speech: Enabled

X-Ray: Not Enabled

Lending: Not Enabled

About the Author

Gary Gusick is a former advertising executive with more than thirty years experience as a copywriter and creative director. He is a winner of numerous national and international awards for creative excellence in advertising. The Last Clinic is his first novel. (from GoodReads)

The book description is from Amazon. The Last Clinic: A Darla Cavannah Mystery (Kindle Edition)

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “A Review of The Last Clinic by Gary Gusick”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s