A Review of Beatles vs. Stones by John McMillian

Beatles vs. StonesBeatles vs. Stones

by John McMillian

Mr. McMillian states that everyone has an opinion. Who do you like, The Beatles or The Rolling Stones? Most people can answer that question. Mr. McMillian lets you know that the differences may be less than they appear. He gives you a look at the state of the music business in the early 60s and what both groups were doing at the time. He looks at how much news was media created and gives you some looks behind the PR. He goes on to trace The Stones as they continue to tour and record music long after The Beatles had broken up.

This is a well written and documented look at a debate that has really faded by now. It is interesting, but not terribly relevant to music fans of today. If you are drawn to this book, you will enjoy it, since it has some new information and a slightly different take on the British Invasion of the 1960s.

I give this book 4 Stars out of 5. If this sounds like a book that you would like to read, you probably will enjoy it.

I received this Digital Review Copy for free from edelweiss.com.

Book Description

Release date: October 29, 2013

With the sophistication of a historian, the storytelling skills of a journalist, and the passion of a fan, John McMillian explores the multifaceted relationship between the two greatest bands of our time.

In the 1960s an epic battle was waged between the two biggest bands in the world—the clean-cut, mop-topped Beatles and the badboy Rolling Stones. Both groups liked to maintain that they weren’t really “rivals”—that was just a media myth, they politely said—and yet they plainly competed for commercial success and aesthetic credibility. On both sides of the Atlantic, fans often aligned themselves with one group or the other. In Beatles vs. Stones, John McMillian gets to the truth behind the ultimate rock and roll debate.

Painting an eye-opening portrait of a generation dragged into an ideological battle between Flower Power and New Left militance, McMillian reveals how the Beatles-Stones rivalry was created by music managers intent on engineering a moneymaking empire. He describes how the Beatles were marketed as cute and amiable, when in fact they came from hardscrabble backgrounds in Liverpool. By contrast, the Stones were cast as an edgy, dangerous group, even though they mostly hailed from the chic London suburbs. For many years, writers and historians have associated the Beatles with the gauzy idealism of the “good” sixties, placing the Stones as representatives of the dangerous and nihilistic “bad” sixties. Beatles vs. Stones explodes that split, ultimately revealing unseen realities about America’s most turbulent decade through its most potent personalities and its most unforgettable music.

Product Details

Hardcover: 320 pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster (October 29, 2013)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1439159696

ISBN-13: 978-1439159699

Product Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.1 x 1.2 inches

Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds

About the Author

Hello! I was born and raised in Michigan, and I spent my teenage years in a tiny town called Essexville. Then, like everyone else in my immediate family, I did my undergraduate work at Michigan State University. It was the right choice for me. When I first started, I could not have imagined that I’d eventually want to go into academia, but I had some truly great professors at MSU, and they helped kindle some of my current interests. Later, I got a Ph.D. in American history from Columbia University, and from 2001-2009 I taught in the Committee on Degrees in History and Literature at Harvard.

Back when I was a grad student, I co-edited a couple of books on American radicalism. I still think that’s an important and oft-overlooked topic, but truth be told, I’m not much of a radical myself. (I don’t like being ideologically pigeonholed.) My first full book, “Smoking Typewriters: The Sixties Underground Press and the Rise of Alternative Media In America,” (Oxford, 2011) is a scholarly monograph, based on my Ph.D. dissertation. My latest, “Beatles Vs. Stones,” (Simon & Schuster, 2013) is a popular history. I examine the friendship and “rivalry” between the two groups, and assess how it was constructed — by fans, the media, and the groups themselves. It’s a short book, but I worked hard on it, and it was a lot of fun to write. Currently I’m an assistant professor of history at Georgia State University, in Atlanta. I love my job, and I’m excited to be getting started on a new project, on Garry Trudeau and his great comic strip, “Doonesbury.”

Thanks so much for your interest. My email address is easy to find, so please feel free to be in touch if you like. Happy reading

The book description is from Amazon. Beatles vs. Stones

One thought on “A Review of Beatles vs. Stones by John McMillian”

Leave a Reply

