A Review of Police: A Harry Hole Novel by Jo Nesbø

PolicePolice: A Harry Hole Novel

by Jo Nesbø

The Harry Hole series was on my “Must Read List” for some time. I just couldn’t decide where to start. When I initially thought about reading the series, the first books hadn’t been translated yet, so I wasn’t sure where to start. A couple of months ago, I saw that this book, “Police”, was coming out soon, so I thought that I would just jump in here. Well, now I know that I have another 9 books to try to fit in somewhere, because this book was great! I wasn’t overwhelmed trying to figure out the relationship between the characters and for the most part I don’t think that starting with Police will “spoil” the earlier books.

Mr. Nesbø has used so many plot twists and changes of direction that you really have to keep on your toes when reading Police. I thought that I had it figured out many times, that I knew what was going to happen next, only to turn the page and find out that I was totally wrong, again. I was never sure what the final outcome was until the last chapter, and even then, at the very end, up pops something new.

I give this book 5 Stars out of 5 and a Big Thumbs Up. If you like mystery thrillers with lots of plot twists and surprises, you will like this book.

I received this Digital Review Copy for free from edelweiss.com.

Book Description

Release date: October 15, 2013 | Series: Harry Hole

Harry Hole returns–or does he?–in a terrifyingly paced, vertiginous new roller coaster of a thriller by the internationally best-selling author of The Snowman and The Redeemer, “the king of Scandinavian crime fiction” (Kirkus).

The police urgently need Harry Hole . . . A killer is stalking Oslo’s streets. Police officers are being slain at the scenes of crimes they once investigated but failed to solve. The murders are brutal, the media reaction hysterical.

But this time, Harry can’t help . . . For years, detective Harry Hole has been at the center of every major criminal investigation in Oslo. His dedication to his job and his brilliant insights have saved the lives of countless people. But now, with those he loves most facing terrible danger, Harry is not in a position to protect anyone.

Least of all himself . . .

Product Details

Hardcover: 448 pages

Publisher: Knopf (October 15, 2013)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0307960498

ISBN-13: 978-0307960498

Product Dimensions: 9.5 x 6.5 x 1.4 inches

Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds

About the Author

Jo Nesbø is a musician, songwriter, economist, and author. He is the recipient of numerous prizes and awards, including the Glass Key, the Riverton Prize, and the Booksellers Prize, and one of his Harry Hole novels was voted best Norwegian crime novel of all time by Norwegian readers. He lives in Oslo

The book description is from Amazon. Police: A Harry Hole Novel

3 thoughts on “A Review of Police: A Harry Hole Novel by Jo Nesbø”

  1. I am so excited to read your review on this book. It has been at the top of my list for some time. I love a book that keeps you guessing and knocks your socks off in the end. I just finished a book that kept me up all night reading. It is called, ” No One Can Know” by author Adrienne LaCava. http://adriennelacava.com/ This is a political fiction thriller set in the backdrop of the 1960s during the JFK assassination, which begins as a CIA agent as a witness who must now go into hiding at the ranch. Readers will care about the story’s people and root for them in a range of conflicts. I started it before bedtime and didn’t get to sleep until I finished it!
    Now I am off to read, “Police.”

    Like

    1. I’m glad that you liked my review. Since you liked No One Can Know by Adrienne LaCava so much, you should write your own review of it on Amazon and B&N and anywhere else that you can think of. I’m sure that the author would love to see what you thought of their book. I will put it in my “Books To Read List”

      Like

Leave a Reply

