A Review of The Ice Princess: A Novel by Camilla Lackberg

The Ice PrincessThe Ice Princess: A Novel [Kindle Edition]

by Camilla Lackberg

About a month ago, I had read a glowing review of The Stranger by Camilla Lackberg on FictionFan’s Book Reviews,  The Stranger by Camilla Läckberg, so I went to NetGalley and requested a digital review copy. I was approved and I had it sent to my Kindle. Meanwhile, I had gotten a copy of the audiobook of the first book in this series (The Ice Princess) from the library. So I decided to read (or listen to) this book first. My wife and I both listened to the audiobook in the car on the way to our cottage in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan last week. We continued listening on our way back and finished it today. I’m glad that I started with this book first.

The Ice Princess is a well written Swedish mystery novel. The story isn’t too light, but neither is it dark and dreary. This isn’t one of those mysteries with the bodies piling up all over the place and blood covering everything. No serial killers popping up in this book. The characters are believable and likable. You will have a good idea of some of what is going on fairly early in the book, but you won’t be able to figure out everything until the end. The clues are there, and if you think back you will say, “I should have caught that, too”, but you won’t.

I enjoyed this book and so did my wife. The translation felt very natural. The narration of the audiobook was very good.

I give this book 4 Stars out of 5 and a Thumbs Up. I am looking forward to getting back to reading The Stranger, but I’m sure that I will be reading The Preacher (Book 2 in this series) soon, since I just got that from the library.

Book Description

Publication Date: March 29, 2011

In this electrifying tale of suspense from an international crime-writing sensation, a grisly death exposes the dark heart of a Scandinavian seaside village. Erica Falck returns to her tiny, remote hometown of Fjällbacka, Sweden, after her parents’ deaths only to encounter another tragedy: the suicide of her childhood best friend, Alex. It’s Erica herself who finds Alex’s body—suspended in a bathtub of frozen water, her wrists slashed. Erica is bewildered: Why would a beautiful woman who had it all take her own life? Teaming up with police detective Patrik Hedström, Erica begins to uncover shocking events from Alex’s childhood. As one horrifying fact after another comes to light, Erica and Patrik’s curiosity gives way to obsession—and their flirtation grows into uncontrollable attraction. But it’s not long before one thing becomes very clear: a deadly secret is at stake, and there’s someone out there who will do anything—even commit murder—to protect it.

Fans of Scandinavian greats Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell will devour Camilla Läckberg’s penetrating portrait of human nature at its darkest.

Product Details

File Size: 874 KB

Print Length: 420 pages

Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1451621744

Publisher: Free Press; Reprint edition (March 29, 2011)

Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc

Language: English

ASIN: B0043RSKBC

Text-to-Speech: Not enabled

X-Ray: Not Enabled

Lending: Not Enabled

About the Author

Camilla Läckberg worked as an economist in Stockholm until a course in creative writing triggered a drastic career change. Her novels have all been #1 bestsellers in Sweden, and she is the most profitable native author in Swedish history. She was the #1 bestselling female author in Europe last year and her novels have been sold in thirty-five countries. Her previous novels are The Ice Princess and The Preacher. Camilla lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her husband and five children.

The book description is from Amazon. The Ice Princess: A Novel

5 thoughts on “A Review of The Ice Princess: A Novel by Camilla Lackberg”

  1. Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the mention! I think the books will be better read in order – there’s a definite running story line that I didn’t get a full feel for coming in half way through. I’ll be backtracking to the beginning when I get a chance. 🙂

    Like

    1. That was what I had felt too. I had started “The Stranger” and had gotten about 5% on the Kindle and thought that since I had the first book from the library, I would read that one first. I may read “The Preacher” before I go back to “The Stranger”.

      Like

  2. Hi Bill, Thanks for the nice review. This is translator Steven T. Murray. If you can, read all of Camilla’s books in order; the domestic story is ongoing. I translated the first 4: The Ice Princess, The Preacher, The Stonecutter, The Stranger. Then my wife Tiina Nunnally took over and has translated The Hidden Child, The Drowning, The Lost Boy, and #8, no title yet. We’re American, but they are published in England first. I recommend reading the UK editions of books 4-8, since the US hardback publisher, Pegasus, is too cheap to pay Tiina anything and decided to hire another translator — caveat emptor!

    Like

    1. Thanks Steven,
      I have gotten a copy of “The Preacher” and plan on reading that later this week. I will read the series in order, as you suggested. I will see if I can find the UK editions. You do a very good job. The book feels very natural.

      Like

Leave a Reply

